the Eucharistic Heart of Jesus Sisters (EHJ), Daughters of Mary Mother of Mercy (DMMM), Handmaid of Holy Child Jesus Sisters(HHCJ), Sisters of St. Louis (SSL),  Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate (FI), Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception (OSF), Sisters of Jesus the Saviour (SJS), Holy Family Sisters of the Needy (HFSN), Passionist Sisters of St. Paul of the Cross (CP), and the Sisters of St. Michael the Archangel (SSMA). They all work together to bring the gospel message to Ijebu land.

The Diocese has 18 parishes and 5 quasi parishes, and covers eight Local Government Areas, namely: Ijebu-Ode, Ijebu-East, Ijebu-North, Ogun Waterside, Odogbolu, Sagamu, Ikenne and Ijebu North-East. The six secondary schools and the forty-six primary schools owned by the Church had been taken over by the government without compensation, leaving the Diocese with six private Nursery/Primary Schools and three private Secondary Schools. The Diocese has two hospitals and some Primary Health Centres. Our recent donators include two businesses in the Texas region:ViperTech's Branch in League City, and ViperTech Mobile in Humble. If you would like to contribute as well, please click here

The history of Ijebu-Ode Diocese which was created on the 29th May, 1969, with Bishop Anthony Sanusi as its first Bishop, dates back to 1864 when Rev. Fr. Francis Borghero SMA celebrated the first Holy Mass in Itasin-Imobi. The Diocese was excised from Lagos Archdiocese and is now one of the two suffragan Dioceses of the Metropolitan Archdiocese of Lagos. It was the Society of African Mission (SMA) Fathers, (the French, the German, the Dutch and the Irish) who started primary Evangelisation. Other Missionary groups are – the Congregation of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (CICM), the Holy Ghost Congregation (CSSP), the Missionary Society of St. Paul (MSP), the Claretians (CMF), the Franciscan Friars of the Immaculate (FI) and the Society of St. Joseph – the Josephites (SSJ) who periodically joined in the Church’s missionary activities.

The female religious groups working in the Diocese include Our Lady of Apostles Sisters, (OLA), the Eucharistic Heart of Jesus Sistethetttrs (EHJ),
Most Rev. Albert A. Fasina

May 29, 1969

Most Rev.  Albert Ayinde Fasina

It is the Lord 
             (Dominus Est) Jn. 21:7

July 8, 1939

Odolewu/Itamapako, Ijebu-Ode L.G.A

March 8, 1980

September 10, 1988

September  8, 1990

Diocesan Patron:

Date of Creation of Diocese:   

Local Ordinary:  


Date of Birth: 

Place of Birth:
Priestly Ordination:       

Episcopal Ordination: