Ijebu-Igbo people like other Ijebus have come to accept the white people following the initial resistance put forth by the Ijebus in 1892, thus there was virtually no resistance to Catholicism in Ijebu-Igbo. The Rev. Fathers continued to pay evangelical visits to Oke-Agbo and Atikori (Oke Sopen) as outstations of Esure parish center until the Holy Angel Catholic School was founded in 1908. A Catholic Church was thereby established in 1909. Catholic members from Oke-Sopen, Atikori, Ojowo and Japara joined members at Oke-Agbo, while Rev. Frs. Joseph Riefel, M. Wouters and A Hermann continued to visit and offer the Holy sacrifice of the Mass at Oke-Agbo.

Ijebu-Igbo was raised to the status of Parish on February 3, 1953, under the Diocese of Lagos with Rev. Fr. H. Sheppard as the first resident priest. In addition to building of schools, a hospital like an annex of the Sacred Heart hospital, Lantoro was built. With the arrival of Rev. Fr. Michael Mclaughlin in 1959, the hospital became a full fledged one named St. Joseph Catholic Hospital , Oke-Agbo.

The S.M.A. Priests were the first to evangelize the Ijebu-Igbo. But today we have the Franciscan Fathers.  The Friars and Sisters of the Franciscan of the Immaculate have been in the Diocese for more that 15years and are continuing the work of evangelization in Ijebu-Igbo Parish.

Fr. Basil Matuluko was the first idegenous clergy to work in the parish after the SMAs left.  The following are the present Priests working in the Parish: Rev. Fr. Jose Adan (Parish Priest), Rev. Fr. Alphonsus Salazar and Rev. Fr. Orcino Conrad (Associate Priest). The average population is 1,635 parishioners.

The mission stations are as follows:

1.St. Mark Catholic, Gbokutaru
2.St. Anthony, Idekan
3.St. Bridget, Fowoseje
4.Osun Budepo Mass Centre
5.Holy Angels, Oke-Agbo and the following are the new Mass Centre:

-     St. Joseph Catholic Church, Agunboye
-         St. Matthews Catholic Church, Ojowo
-         Japara Mass Centre
-         Basic Christian Community (Mass Centre Igbaire)
-         Basic Christian Community (Mass Centre Obada)
-         St. Joseph Catholic Church (Lepers Colony)
-         Mosimi Mass Centre
-         Adoration Marian Shrine